The GMAT exam consists of four parts:

  1. AWA (Analytical Writing Assessment)

The AWA is an essay and tests candidates the analytical reasoning behind a given argument of which they must write a critique.

The duration of AWA is 30 minutes and AWA scores range from 1 (minimum) to 6 (maximum)

  1. IR (Integrated Reasoning)

Integrated Reasoning is designed to measure a test taker’s ability to evaluate data presented in multiple formats from multiple sources. The Integrated Reasoning section consists of 12 questions in four different formats: graphic interpretation, two-part analysis, table analysis, and multi-source reasoning. Integrated Reasoning scores range from 1 – 8. Like the Analytical Writing Assessment, this section is scored separately from the quantitative and verbal section. Performance on the IR and AWA sections do not contribute to the total GMAT score.

Integrated Reasoning questions focus on your ability to solve complex problems using data from multiple sources in a variety of formats.

In the Integrated Reasoning section, you must analyse different types of data (presented in graphs, tables, and passages, among other formats), synthesize data in verbal and graphical formats, such as spreadsheets.

There are 12 questions in the Integrated Reasoning section, and some questions may include multiple parts.

  1. Quantitative

The quantitative section of the GMAT seeks to measure the ability to reason quantitatively, solve quantitative problems, interpret graphic data, and analyse and use information given in a problem.

Quantitative section is divided into two parts:

  1. Problem Solving (PS)

PS questions are designed to test the ability to reason quantitatively and to solve quantitative problems.

  1. Data Sufficiency (DS)

DS questions are designed to measure the ability to understand and analyse a quantitative problem, recognise what information is relevant or irrelevant and determine at what point there is enough information to solve a particular problem

  1. Verbal

The verbal section of the GMAT Exam seeks to measure the test taker’s ability to read and comprehend written material, reason and evaluate arguments and correct written material to express ideas effectively in standard written English.

Verbal section is divided into three parts:

  1. Reading Comprehension (RC)
  2. Critical Reasoning (CR)
  3. Sentence Correction (SC)

The total GMAT scores ranges from 200 to 800 and only reflects performance on the quantitative and verbal sections together.