IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is intended for those who wish either to study or to work in a country where English is used as the language of communication. Hence, it tests a person’s level of proficiency in English.

There are two versions of the test, i.e. IELTS Academic required for university admissions or IELTS General Training for work and/or permanent residence.

IELTS comprises four Modules:

  1. Listening

The listening module consists of four parts. There are 40 questions to complete within 40 minutes (30 minutes for doing the test and 10 minutes for transferring the answers to the answer sheet)

  1. Reading

The reading test for Academic and General Training is different from each other, although both have a total of 40 questions in three sections which must be completed in 60 minutes.

  1. Writing

The IELTS writing test contains 2 is divided into 2 categories as well:

  • the Academic Writing
  • Task 1 in which candidates have to describe a graph, table, bar chart, pie chart and /or a process
  • Task 2 in which they have to respond to an argument
  • the General Training
  • Task 1 in which candidates have to write a letter
  • Task 2 in which they have to write an essay

The duration of the writing test is 60 minutes

  1. Speaking

The speaking test, which will take around 11 to 15 minutes to complete, contains three parts and is conducted in the form of a one-to-one interview with an examiner

The IELTS scores range from 1 to 9, in half-point increments. The scores of 6 to 7 are required by most universities which may also demand a minimum score in each of the 4 sections.